International OBE Symposium 2021 

Implementation of Outcome-based Education in the Engineering Programs to Meet the Requirements of the Washington Accord



November 27-28, 2021


Online Zoom Webinar Sessions

The URL for Registration

Brief Description:

This is an initiative from the Institutional Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) of ​Ahsanullah University of Science and Technology (AUST) along with selected faculty members from AUST (Bangladesh), UKM (Malaysia), IIUM (Malaysia), and UniKL (Malaysia). In this symposium, the presenters are expected to share the way OBE has been implemented in engineering programs to meet the requirements of the Washington Accord. They are also expected to focus on:

  • Institutional Frameworks for implementing OBE
  • Design and Development of OBE-based Curricula
  • Assessment of the twelve Program Outcomes (POs)
  • Assessment of the Program Educational Objectives (PEOs)
  • Assessment of the seven ranges of Complex Engineering Program Solving
  • Assessment of the five ranges of Complex Engineering Activities
  • Engagement with the Industries
  • Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI)
  • OBE Software/Tools
  • Dissemination of OBE among the stakeholders

Invited Guests

  • The Chief Guest for the Inaugural Session: Professor Dr. Saifur Rahman, President-Elect IEEE
  • The Special Guest for the Inaugural Session: Professor Dr. Saiful Amin, Chairman (Acting), BAETE

Invited Speakers

  1. Professor Shahrir Abdullah, UKM, Malaysia (
  2. Ir. Dr. Zambri Harun, Chairman, Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, UKM, Malaysia (
  3. Dr Foo Yong-Lim, Assistant Provost (Applied Learning) & Director of Programmes (Engineering), Singapore Institute of Technology, Singapore (,
  4. Professor M. S. J. Hashmi, Dublin City University (
  5. Prof lr Dr Mohd Syuhaimi Ab Rahman UKM, Malaysia (
  6. Professor Dr. Imtiaz Ahmed Choudhury, AUST (Former Professor of UM, Malaysia) (
  7. Dr. Azharul Karim, Associate Professor, Faculty of Engineering, QUT, Australia (
  8. Dr. Nor Fadhillah Bt. Mohamed Azmin, Associate Professor, IIUM, Malaysia (
  9. Dr. Shyamal Kumar Das Mandal, IIT – Kharagpur, India (

Expert Panel Members

  1. Professor Ir. Dr. Nor Kamariah Noordin, Associate Director (AD) of EAC, Malaysia (
  2. Professor Ir. Dr. Ramesh Singh, Dean, Faculty of Engineering, University Teknologi Brunei, Brunei Darussalam (
  3. Prof lr Dr Mohd Syuhaimi Ab Rahman, Director of Center for Alumni Relations, UKM-Malaysia (

Session Chairs

  1. Professor Dr. Mohammed Mahbubur Rahman, Pro-VC, AUST (
  2. Professor Dr. A.S. MD. Abdul Haseeb, UM, Malaysia (
  3. Professor Dr. Ahmad Faris Bin Ismail, Deputy Rector (Academic and Internationalisation), IIUM Gombak Campus, Malaysia (
  4. Professor Dr. Kazi Bayzid Kabir, Member Secretary, Board of Accreditation for Engineering and Technical Education (BAETE) (

Symposium Organizing Committee

  • Professor Dr. Mazharul Islam, Director, Institutional Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC), AUST, Bangladesh – Convenor
  • Professor Dr. Qumrul Ahsan, MPE, AUST, Bangladesh – Member
  • Professor Dr. Md. Raisuddin Khan, IIUM, Malaysia (
  • Ir. Dr. Zambri Harun, Chairman, Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, UKM, Malaysia – Member
  • Dr. Elsheikh Mohamed Ahmed Elsheikh, Senior Lecturer, Electrical Engineering Section, UniKL, Malaysia (

Program Schedule

Videos & Slides from the Sessions